Saturday, November 18, 2017

Christian Feminism Today PodcastsMission and Purpose | Who We Are | Our Origin

CFT is a community faithful to Christ’s example, pursuing social justice and offering radical welcome to all.

We believe God created each of us in the divine image for relationship with God and one another.

We believe we are divinely called to do God’s will by sharing our most authentic selves responsibly in church, home, and society.

We believe answers to hard questions can be found through careful feminist examination of the Bible.

We value diverse religious experiences.

We value the gifts God has given every individual and have long advocated for the full equality of women and LGBTQ people in church and society.

We expand metaphors for God to include biblical female imagery.

We welcome members of any gender, gender identity, race, ethnicity, color, creed, marital status, sexual orientation, religious affiliation, age, political party, parental status, economic class, or disability. Our biennial conferences sustain our spiritual connectedness and foster our learning about critical Christian feminist issues. The Christian Feminism Today website provides Christian feminist news, articles, book reviews, blogs, Bible study, audio, links to explore, and inspiration.  


We support, educate, and celebrate Christian feminists from many traditions.


  • to encourage and advocate the use of women’s gifts in all forms of Christian vocation.
  • to provide educational opportunities for Christian feminists to grow in their belief and understanding.
  • to promote networking and mutual encouragement within the Christian community.

Our Sustaining Members

Jann Aldredge-Clanton
Margaret Arighi
Elizabeth Baker-Smith
Linda Bieze
Sharon G. Bowes
Barbara Brandt
Peg and Joe Conway
Barb Crews
Lisa DeWeese
Reta Halteman Finger
Jeanne Hanson
Karen Kidd
Corbin Lambeth
Anne Linstatter
Wanda Lollar
Janet Lundblad
Marilyn McDonald
Bettina Pedersen
Gail Ricciuti
Deb and John Saxon

Our Council

2017 Officers

Sharon Bowes (Coordinator)
Marietta, Georgia

Anne Linstatter (Secretary)
Santa Monica, California

Ashley Cason  (Treasurer)
Superior, Colorado

Representatives in Addition to the Officers Listed Above

Jann Aldredge-Clanton
Dallas, Texas

Leslie Harrison
West Deptford, New Jersey

Christy Sim,
Carrollton, Texas

Deb Vaughn
North Potomac, Maryland

Deb Saxon (Indiana Chapter Rep)
Franklin, Indiana

Serving EEWC as Independent Contractors and Volunteers

Marg Herder
Indianapolis, Indiana
Director of Public Information
Central Office Manager

Reta Halteman Finger
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Book Reviews (volunteer)

Letha Dawson Scanzoni
Norfolk, Virginia
Substantive Editor

Kathi Anderson
Silver City, New Mexico
Copy Editor

Link of the Day Team

Marg Herder
Letha Dawson Scanzoni

Nancy A. Hardesty Scholarship Committee

Linda Bieze
Katie Deaver
Sharon Bowes

Website Team 2016-2017

Jann Aldredge-Clanton, Writer
Kathi Anderson, Copy Editor
Kathleen Madinger Angelone, Writer
Princess O’Nika Auguste, Writer
Jera Brown, Substantive Editor
McKenzie Brown, Writer
Debbie Burnham-Kidwell, Writer
Jamie Calloway-Hanauer, Writer
Susan Campbell, Writer
Angie Best, Writer
Cherice Bock, Writer
Peg Conway, Writer
Katie Deaver, Writer
Lisa DeWeese, Proofreader
Rebecca Dix, Writer
Elisabeth Mehl Greene, Writer
Reta Halteman Finger, Blog Author and Writer
Leslie Harrison, Writer
Marg Herder, Website Developer, Blog Author, and Writer
Ruth Hoppin, Writer
Mary E. Hunt, Writer
Kendra Weddle Irons, Writer
Jennifer Kane, Writer
Rebecca Kiser, Writer
Elyse Kitrakis, Writer
Sam Koster, Writer
Corbin Lambeth, Writer
Erica Lea, Writer
Anne Linstatter, Writer
Criselda Marquez, Writer
Diane Marshall, Writer
Mark Mattison, Writer
Darcy Metcalf, Writer
Melanie Springer Mock, Writer
Virginia Ramey Mollenkott, Writer
Casey O’Leary, Writer
Mark William Olsen, Writer
Anna Redsand, Writer
Kirsti Reeve, Writer
Jean Rodenbough, Writer
Alena Amato Ruggerio, Handwriting Transcriber
Letha Dawson Scanzoni, Substantive Editor, Writer
Christy Sim, Writer
Susie Stanley, Writer
JoMae Spoelhof, Writer
Julia K. Stronks, Writer
Deb Vaughn, Writer
Dan Wilkinson, Writer

Our Origin

In 1973, a group of socially concerned Christians, later known as Evangelicals for Social Action (ESA), met in Chicago and drafted the Chicago Declaration as the basis for their organization. Among the participants were a few women who were concerned about the inferior status of women in Church and society and who called upon the group to consider issues related to sexism from a Christian perspective.

At ESA’s second consultation in 1974 the women’s caucus was one of six task forces or caucuses formed by ESA participants to study such concerns as racism, sexism, peace, and simpler lifestyles. Thus our group was born as the Evangelical Women’s Caucus (EWC). The EWC group presented proposals to Evangelicals for Social Action on a variety of topics including endorsement of the Equal Rights Amendment, support for inclusive language in Bible translation and Christian publications, affirmation of the ordination of women, and criticism of discriminatory hiring policies in Christian institutions.

The first national EWC conference, held in 1975 in Washington, D.C., addressed “Women in Transition: A Biblical Approach to Feminism.” The conference attracted more than 360 women from 36 of the 50 United States and from Canada. Since that time, we have held international conferences in Pasadena, California; Grand Rapids, Michigan; Saratoga Springs, New York; Seattle, Washington; Wellesley, Massachusetts; Fresno, California; Chicago, Illinois; San Francisco, California; Norfolk, Virginia; Indianapolis, Indiana; Claremont, California; Charlotte, North Carolina; and, most recently, Indianapolis, Indiana, (2008, 2010, and 2012) which was also the location of the 2002 conference.

In 1990, in order to reflect the increasingly inclusive nature and the many traditions of our membership, we officially changed our name to Evangelical & Ecumenical Women’s Caucus (EEWC). This continues to be the name under which we are incorporated.

In 2009 we began using the name Christian Feminism Today to refer to the organization.

In 1994, we celebrated our twentieth anniversary at our biennial international conference in Chicago, Illinois. Our twenty-fifth anniversary was also celebrated at North Park University in Chicago, Illinois, on July 27-30, 2000. The theme was “Your Daughters Shall Prophesy and You Shall Be My Witnesses.” In June, 2004, we held our thirtieth anniversary conference at Scripps College in Claremont, California on the theme, “Where Wisdom Calls: Crossroads and Open Gates.” In June 2014, we celebrated forty years of promoting justice in Christianity with a conference in St. Louis, Missouri, “Let Justice Roll Down Like a River.”

There are a few articles on our website that discuss our history.  Access them by clicking here.