Thursday, October 28, 2021
Nancy Hardesty Scholarship Header
Nancy Hardesty


The Application Window is closed. Check back in February of 2022.

Click here to view the 2021 scholarship application.

Christian Feminism Today (formerly known as the Evangelical and Ecumenical Women’s Caucus) offers a $1,000 scholarship to a college senior or graduate student who is pursuing studies in religion or theology. The scholarship is awarded to a student who aspires to exemplify the values and achievements of Nancy A. Hardesty, a founding member of the Christian Feminism Today organization. The application window for the 2021 award is closed. Check back in February of 2022.

Hardesty spent much of her career in higher education. From 1988 to her death in 2011, Hardesty taught in the Department of Religion and Philosophy at Clemson University in South Carolina. Before arriving at Clemson, Hardesty also taught at Emory University’s Candler School of Theology.

Hardesty’s first book, co-authored with Letha Dawson Scanzoni, was All We’re Meant to Be: Biblical Feminism for Today published in 1974. The ground-breaking book has gone through several editions, and was noted by Christianity Today, in its 50th anniversary issue, as one of the top fifty books influencing the evangelical movement. Hardesty subsequently wrote other books on topics ranging from women in the Bible to inclusive language in the church.

“We owe much to Nancy Hardesty for all her contributions to Christian feminism over the years,” Scanzoni said in 2011. “She played a major role in setting the stage for the 1974 founding of our organization…”

Learn about past scholarship recipients:

2021 — JoDeanne Francis, a theological studies candidate at GCTS
2020 — Elizabeth Schrader, a doctoral student at Duke University
2020 — Shavon Walker, an MDiv candidate at ABSW
2019 — M Burke, completed their MA in theological studies from Nazarene Theological Seminary
2018 — Elyssa Salinas-Lazarski, a doctoral student at Garrett-Evangelical Theological Seminary
2017 — Rev. Erica Saunders, completed her MDiv from Wake Forest University
2016 — Rev. Darcy Metcalfe, a doctoral student at the University of Iowa
2015 — Katie Deaver, PhD, completed her doctorate from Lutheran School of Theology at Chicago
2014 — Jennifer Newman, completed her undergrad degree at George Fox University

Press Releases

2021 Recipient Press Release (JoDeanne Francis)
2021 Honorable Mention Press Release (Josefine Parker)
2021 Honorable Mention Press Release (Kimberly Shank)
2020 Press Release
2019 Press Release
2018 Press Release
2017 Press Release
2016 Press Release
2015 Press Release
2014 Press Release



These were the 2021 scholarship requirements.

1.  Applicant must be a senior in college, a graduate student studying religion or theology, or must be attending seminary/divinity school.

2.  Applicant must be planning to attend a university or seminary in the US or Canada during the fall 2021 semester.

3.  Applicant must submit all the following:

a. Three letters of reference, with at least one letter from a professor.  Make sure accurate contact information is included!

b. A current transcript.

c. The completed application form.

d. A 1500-2500 word double-spaced three part essay covering:

● The influence Christian feminism has had on their personal and professional pursuits.
● The impact they hope to have on the field of Christian feminism.
● Current social justice issues with which Christian feminism should be concerned.

Important Dates

The deadline for submitting applications is April 30.
Recipient will be notified by June 5.
Check will be sent to the recipient’s school in August.

Mailing Address

All requested materials should be scanned and emailed to office [at] eewc [dot] com.  If you are unable to scan and email your submission, materials may be mailed to:

CFT Nancy A. Hardesty Memorial Scholarship
PO Box 78171
Indianapolis, IN  46278

Articles by Nancy A. Hardesty

Why Inclusive Language Is Important

The more controversial issue is language about God – the capital “He.” Some people seem to be convinced that God really is male. Many of these are the same people who answer, “God made man is His image” and assume that is, in some way, a literal statement.

Silent Lives

Reviews of Hardesty's Books on CFT

Women Called to Witness: Evangelical Feminism in the Nineteenth Century

Women Called to Witness suggests that the American women who led the battles over temperance, female ordination, abolition, and woman suffrage in the 1800s were motivated by their evangelical Christian faith. In the Second Great Awakening revivals, which touched the lives of each of these female crusaders,

Faith Cure: Divine Healing in the Holiness and Pentecostal Movements

It's amazing to see how our own times' distrust of conventional allopathic medicine and the interest in alternative medicines mirrors a powerful movement of the previous century that looked for healing methods apart from drugs or doctors.